Lexington and 42nd by Kim Carmody

28930466._UY200_My 4 Stars Review

Lexington and 42nd is a delightful debut novel by author Kim Carmody. I enjoyed her engaging narrative style and this lighthearted and sweet story was very pleasant to read.

I loved the hero, Will Jensen, the hot and swoon-worthy star quarterback of the New York NFL team. He has it all, the talent, the looks and a charming personality.

In the frame of a trial exchange program, Aussie PR Emma Lexington has been sent to “the city that never sleeps” to work for Will’s football team. Her first encounter with Will is hilarious, as she forgot to google him and doesn’t recognize him. And that pleases Will enormously ! He is attracted to Emma, but he is a bit of a flirt, so she doesn’t trust him. Emma has a rather hesitant personality, but I felt that she did grow as the story progressed and moreover, she had her own reasons. Will’s relentless pursuit of the reluctant Emma was adorable.

“Lord knows I’ve shown interest in you from the start. It’s not like it mattered though, you seemed to have made up your mind about me before we even met. I never stood a chance with you.”

As for the pace of the story, I found it adequate for a romantic comedy. I was however sometimes frustrated to see that Will and Emma relationship progressed very slowly, or even at times not at all. It didn’t bother me too much, though.

Overall, I enjoyed this sweet sport romance and will certainly follow this author in the future !

If you are in the mood for a feel-good and romantic story,  this novel is a great pick !

I thank the author for sending me a copy of her book in exchange for my honest feedback.

Leave a Reply

