Magnate (The Knickerbocker Club #1) by Joanna Shupe

 

26025392._UY200_My 5 Stars Review

I loved this book ! It’s definitely one of the best romance novels I have read this year. Joanna Shupe is a very talented author and a great storyteller.

Magnate is the first full length novel in her new series about a group of business tycoons in Gilded Age, a period that fascinates me. After reading and enjoying Tycoon, the prequel novella to this series, I had high expectations ! I was not disappointed, Magnate is a book to read and re-read ! What totally seduced me in this story are the characters, even secondary ones. The author also cleverly integrated vivid period details in her plot, including the Great Blizzard of 1888.

Lizzie Sloane might be a New York blue blooded, she is desperately in need of a wealthy and influential business partner to get her brokerage firm up and running. She has a talent for stock speculation but such activities are totally unacceptable for a woman from the old families of New York society.
Emmett Cavanaugh has built an empire starting from nothing and has a reputation of ruthlessness. He might not be Lizzie’s first choice, but he is the only one accepting to help her… if she wins a nearly impossible wager.

I loved both characters, they complemented each other perfectly. Their witty banter was delightful and they had great chemistry. Lizzie is a wonderful heroine, she is spirited, determined, smart and generous. Emmett simply can’t resist her, despite his reputation of being as malleable as granite ! He is driven, relentless in business, but also responsible and loyal. He won’t hesitate to marry Lizzie to save her reputation. I loved how their relationship progressed from an arrangement to deep love, with some roadblocks along the way. The emotional aspect of the story was very well developed and had depth.

I highly recommend this beautiful story and I’m looking forward to reading “Baron”, the next book in the series !

I received an advanced copy of this book, courtesy of publisher Kensington Books, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.

Links

Goodreads
Amazon US
Leave a Reply

