Release Blitz & Giveaway: Riot Street by Tyler King

FOR_RiotStreet_blitz

RIOT STREET by Tyler Kind (April 30, 2017; Forever Yours eBook; $3.99)

Sometimes, getting in too deep is the only way to survive…

As darkly charismatic as he is unpredictable, Ethan Ash knows me better than I know myself.  He’s spent years unraveling the family scandal I’ve tried desperately to escape.  I once thought that made us adversaries.  Now he’s the closest ally I have left.

Ethan’s both the chaos around me and the deep, calm center where I feel safe.  People warn me about him, tell me he’s dangerous.  Don’t fall for him.  But its too late.  Beacuase I can’t tell where my addiction ends…and his obsession begins.

Buy the Book!

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2m3PZ4E

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2lEV5sd

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2mHn6iu

iBooks: http://apple.co/2mmWKkT

Google: http://bit.ly/2m0cHdb

Add Riot Street to your shelf on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2mkeyLJ

My Review

Rating : 5 out of 5 Stars

King_RiotStreet_ebookThe minute I started reading Riot Street, I knew I was about to embark on something truly special. Tyler King has this way of making you fall completely into her story and you feel like you are experiencing every emotion her characters are going through. This story felt real to me. The raw emotion, the depth and complexity of the characters contribute to create a soul-stirring, poignant story.

The heroes of this story, Avery Avalon and Ethan Nash are connected in a strange, tragic way. Ethan is an award-winning journalist, bestselling author and a big deal in the world of journalism. Avery is a young journalism graduate, with a traumatic past. She grew up under the totalitarian authority of a self-appointed guru, secluded from society. Ethan wrote about Avery’s family story, and created her alter ego in a work of fiction. In his book, based on interviews of her father, Ethan has exposed her family’s dark secrets. He feels he owes her and asks her to accept a newsroom job at Riot Street, a news publication.

The exploration of Ethan and Avery’s slow burning relationship was perfectly executed. Avery is trying to move on from her past, but she still has nightmares and anxiety attacks. Ethan convinces her to stop hiding and feeling ashamed of who she is. Being with him takes her anxiety away, he is tender, honest and understanding. She can identify with him, they both had a troubled and secluded childhood, betrayed by the ones they loved. There are serious issues they both must overcome, they need time to grow beyond their past and allow themselves to be loved.

Tyler King writes beautifully, her style is crisp, clever, witty, her characters are vibrant, complex and engaging. This story was compelling, with a perfect blend of swoon-worthy and heartbreaking moments, angst and funny interactions. This book was my first read by Tyler King and it is a definite keeper on my shelf! I highly recommend it. Riot Street is a standalone, told from Avery’s point of view.

Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

ARC generously provided to me by the publisher, via NetGalley.

Giveaway!

Enter to win 1 of 15 free ebook downloads of Riot Street! http://bit.ly/2nzrk9Q

riotstreet-sharegraphic-01

Excerpt

“You awake?” Ethan shifts next to me in bed beneath the blankets. “Something wrong?”
“I’m fine. Go back to sleep.”
He rolls to his side, wrapping his arm around my waist. “Talk to me.”
“Really, it’s nothing. I’m just restless.”
“You’re safe with me.” His fingers slide under the hem of my tank top to lightly brush bare skin. “I won’t let anything happen to you.”
“No, I know. It isn’t that, I’m just…”
I don’t have the words to articulate it. Even if I could, I’m not sure it’d make sense.
“What can I do?” he asks, trying to understand.
Ethan needs a problem he can fix. Something with bolts and buttons. Something he can take apart, reassemble, or knock with a hammer. People aren’t as easy.
Instead, I kiss him. My lips against his, it isn’t a solution, but it makes me feel better. Wrapped in blankets, secluded in darkness, he overwhelms my senses. The taste of mint on his tongue, the clean, rich scent of his skin—they drive all other thoughts from my mind. I feel only his mouth, his tongue teasing mine, and his heart beating under my palm.
“Avery,” he hums against my lips. “Wait a minute.”
My fingers comb into his hair, tugging. I don’t want him to speak. To let words break the illusion. I just want him, everywhere, all at once and nothing else.
“Listen to me.” He breaks away. “I want you to hear this.”
Hand caressing the side of my face, he runs his thumb under my bottom lip until I settle.
“I mean it. Whenever you’re scared or hurting, I want you to feel safe with me. I want to be the person you talk to, not the one you hide from. Anything at all, or nothing, whatever it is that gets inside your head and makes you want to run, give it to me. I’ll take it away. I’ll bury it in the ground, and never let it hurt you again. I promise, Avery, with all my heart. You never have to be afraid of anything when you’re with me.”
The darkness turns liquid and my chest clenches.
“Why do you say things like that?” I barely whisper.
“Because they’re true. And because I love you.”

 

About the Author

Tyler King was born and raised in Orlando, Florida and graduated from the University of Central Florida with a degree in Creative Writing. As a journalist, her work has appeared in Orlando magazine and Orlando Business Journal, among other publications. She is a proud army spouse currently living in Virginia with her husband.

Social Media Links

http://www.TylerAKing.com

https://www.facebook.com/TylerAKing

 

Leave a Reply

